Catching a code injection hacker in the act

Several days ago, I installed the Redirection plugin from Urban Giraffe. It’s truly awesome, in more ways than one. John Godley, you are an amazing programmer! As I re-arranged the categories on my blog, I tracked the 404 errors through the plugin. On Saturday morning, I noticed the following bit of information in my log:

SQL injection hacker - 404 log entries

You can click on the thumbnail to view the screenshot at full size. Look at the entries for IP address 65.90.251.169. Notice something peculiar? That’s a hacker trying to inject malicious code into my pages. He was trying to call to code contained in a text file by the name ide.txt located on a possibly compromised domain.

First, I checked out his domain, new-fields.com. It looked legitimate. The text file was another story altogether. Have a look at the screenshots below. I also saved the code to my computer in case it ends up disappearing from the hacker’s website.

SQL injection hacker - his website SQL injection hacker - malicious code

I tested the code, and it looks like some pages from the podPress plugin are targeted or affected — at least that’s what the error message given by WP referenced when I ran the code. I had that plugin enabled at the time, and I’ve disabled it since. It seems that the code tries to modify one of the header.php pages, along with checking disk space (?). So I thought, let me find out who this hacker is. Apparently, he’s from Napperville, IL, US, or at least that’s where his IP address lives.

SQL injection hacker - his location

What’s more, I thought it’d be interesting to see who owns that domain name where his text file resides. It turns out to be one Samir Farajallah from Dubai.

SQL injection hacker - hacker domain owner

So what we’ve got so far is some dude in Dubai who owns the domain where the malicious code resides, and some hacker in Napperville, IL, trying to exploit my blog using that malicious code.

Wait, it gets better… On Saturday evening, I have another look at my blog’s 404 log, and I find that some other hacker from Vietnam (IP address: 203.171.31.19) is trying to hack into my blog using that exact same code, but this time the text file’s located on some domain in Argentina. That last link leads directly to the text file with the malicious code, but it’s harmless if you browse it. It only works if you run it as PHP code, like these hackers are trying to do.

SQL injection hacker - 2nd set of 404 log entries SQL injection hacker - 2nd hacker location

So far, it looks like I’ve got two hackers, who may or may not be working together, using the same malicious code, located on two different, possibly compromised domains, and trying to modify my header files, possibly to insert code in there that will display splog content or some other stuff.

Update: It looks like three more hackers are trying their luck today, on Sunday morning, 9/30/07. Their IP addresses are 65.98.14.194, 66.79.165.19 and 66.11.231.48.

What I can tell you is that they haven’t been successful. I checked all of my files, and none of them have been touched. Everything’s fine. At this point, I’m not going to waste any more of my time trying to hunt them down. If I see that the attacks continue, I’ll notify my web hosting provider, along with the hosting providers of the other domains, and I’ll also notify the ISPs who own the IP addresses used in the attacks.

My thanks go out to John Godley for the wonderful Redirection plugin. I wouldn’t have been able to catch these hackers without it. I don’t often check my 404 log files, although I should.

I’ve been working in IT for 13 years or so. Maybe I’m naive, maybe I’m too honest for my own good, but I’ve stayed away from this hacking business, and I’ll continue to do so. It’s just not a sustainable lifestyle. I believe that the bad stuff you do in life will catch up with you sooner or later. It’s inevitable. These hackers will get what’s coming to them, and I won’t even have to lift a finger beyond what I’ve done so far.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

Related Posts

Subscribe to my feed If you are new here, you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed, or follow me on FriendFeed or Twitter.

3 Comments    «have your say»

Comments are moderated. It might be a good idea to read through the comment guidelines before submitting. RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI.

  1. John says:

    Hi Raoul,

    I noticed the same activity myself. I believe its part of some mass scanning activity by hackers ‘trying their luck’ and hoping for a couple of sites that are using insecure software (including some WordPress plugins). As you also concluded, I’m not too worried (although that may change when the attempts stop appearing in the 404 log!)

    Glad the plugin has been useful anyway, and thanks for the feedback.

    Comment — October 2, 2007 @ 9:43 am

  2. Raoul says:

    Nice to hear from you, John! :-)

    Comment — October 2, 2007 @ 10:48 am

  3. NoahArk says:

    I’m having similar issue, but much worse a DDOS attack. I blocked all perl bot from my host. Most of the attack is from IRC shell bot. It get more aggressive lately as some of this bot manage to cloaked (spoof) as legit googlebot. They are eating my bandwidth, banning them doesn’t solved the problem.

    Comment — December 22, 2007 @ 2:55 pm

Who are you, and what would you like to say?